This is the "Home" page of the "Virtual Reference Paly" guide.
Alternate Page for Screenreader Users
Skip to Page Navigation
Skip to Page Content

Virtual Reference Paly   Tags: reference, research  

Reference books available online via passwords
Last Updated: Mar 7, 2012 URL: http://libguides.pausd.org/palyvirtualref Print Guide RSS UpdatesEmail AlertsShareThis
Home Print Page
  Search: 
 
 

Research Advice

Virtual reference books are books that have been digitalized, so unlike databases the information doesn't change unless there is a new print edition published.   Unlike general encyclopedias, speciality reference books take an in depth look at a particular topic and are a great place to start a research assignment. 

 

Virtual Reference Collections

Gale Virtual Reference  books are searchable versions of print reference books. Go to Basic Search and open up subject tabs to view individual book titles. Click on a specific book to search it or search the entire collection by typing in a keyword in the search box. Some articles include links to websites, and it is easy to link from one article to the next. Articles can be emailed and printed in either pdf or computer text.  Examples of books from the collection include: Encyclopedia of World Biography, American Decades Primary Sources, Encyclopedia of War, Encyclopedia of Food and Culture, Encyclopedia of Genocide and Crimes Against Humanity, Encyclopedia of European History 1450-1789, Harlem Renaissance, Encyclopedia of Genetic Disorders, Encyclopedia of Recipes and Foods of the World, Encyclopedia of Religion.

Salem History  corresponds to the print version of Milestone Documents in American History located in the library. This comprehensive resource showcases important primary source documents and offers historic information and commentary about them. 

Salem Health corresponds to the new print version of Magill's Medical Guide located in the library.

Description

Loading  Loading...

Tip